For each sprint, team members enter their availabilities / time spent on the project on a daily basis.
First, you need to enable the “Team capacity” App in your project.
Then, it also requires to be configured in your project settings before your can use it. Once it is configured, enable availabilities management. Then, availabilities with the chosen default value will be automatically created for your sprints (“in progress” and planned ones).
You can change the default availabilities at any time, but it will only affect new availabilities.
If you disable activity management, availabilities for planned sprints will be deleted. Availabilities for “in progress” and closed sprints are kept so you will get them back when re-enabling availabilities management.
The traditional sprint burndown chart compares the remaining time to an ideal download line that starts from the remaining time at sprint activation and decreases linearly to 0. However, if you use availabilities then there is a much better curve to compare your remaining time with: the remaining availabilities!
In an “in progress” and “todo” sprints, you will find a new chart named “Sprint burndown (Availability)” that replaces the ideal line by remaining availabilities. Past availabilities values are recorded while the ones for the current and upcoming days are dynamically computed from the current availabilities taken from the availability table.
Be careful, you want the curves to have the same trend but you don’t want them to be superposed! Indeed, the remaining availabilities must be above the remaining time to take into account risks and additional time needed to manage emergencies. Read the next section about “sprint slack”.
The slack S that represents the room your team has between the expected work and the maximum work that can be done is calculated from the sprint total availabilities A and the sprint total remaining time R like so: S = A – R
It is displayed in the sprint plan (for “in progress” and “todo” sprints). You can disable slack display in your settings under the “team availabilities” section (e.g. if you don’t use the same unit for remaining time and availabilities).
For an “in progress” sprint, the slack is calculated from the remaining availabilities (the sum of the availabilities from the current day included to the end of the sprint) so they can be compared to the current remaining time.
It is good to ensure that your sprints have enough slack. Indeed, it allows working on unexpected tasks, absorbing underestimations or giving your team time to improve their work.
The slack rate slackRate is calculated from the slack S and the remaining time of the sprint R like so: slackRate = S / R * 100
The slack color is computed after the slack rate, helping you to determine if there is enough slack. Here is the default color scheme:
slackRate > 40%: blue
30% < slackRate < 40%: green
20% < slackRate < 30%: orange
slackRate < 20%: red
A project may be risky and require a lot of slack while a project with a well known context may require a little slack. You can adapt the color scheme according to this context by changing the thresholds in your project settings, under the “team availabilities” section.
If availability management is enabled, creating a sprint will automatically create its availabilities with default value.
Activate a sprint
When you activate a sprint, the total expected availability for the sprint is saved. It is displayed in the availabilities table and compared to the “actual availabilities”. “Expected availability” by user are also available through the Web Services API.
Update sprint dates
When you update your sprint dates:
If you add days to the sprint, corresponding availabilities with default value will be created.
If you remove days from the sprint, corresponding availabilities will be deleted.
Please note that shifting a sprint (e.g. delaying the beginning of the sprint but keeping its duration) will both create days and delete availabilities (here head availabilities are deleted and tail availabilities are created).
Delete a sprint
If you delete a sprint, all its availabilities are deleted.
Availabilities can be queried and updated through the iceScrum REST API, e.g. to feed an external tool.