The main view of the user administration displays all the users registered on your server (by default they are sorted by first name). You can see information such as email, creation/last update dates and the number of teams the user belongs to.
You can search users in the main menu bar and filter enabled/disabled users (how to disable a user is explained below).
Instead of asking users to register, the administrator can create them. Click on the “New user” button in the toolbar to display a form similar to the registration form.
To create several users in a row, click Create and continue or hit shift + return.
Click on a user to display its details and update them.
This Apps allows to prevent users from logging in by disabling them.
Disabling a user also unsubscribes them for notifications and hides them from the users you can add into teams. However, this user will still appear in their teams and mentioned as the author/owner of them tasks/stories, but with “(disabled)” appended to the full name.
User deletion is a complicated matter.
Indeed, while it may be desirable to delete the projects and teams they have created, it is often not desirable to delete the data they authored on other projects (stories, tasks, comments…).
The solution iceScrum offers consists in replacing the authorship of such data by another user. You may create a dedicated user for that, e.g. named “Deleted user”.
By default, project and teams owned by the deleted user are handed off to the replacement user. You can delete them instead by checking the corresponding checkbox.
Unlike disabling a user, deleting a user cannot be undone so be careful when making your choice!
As an alternative to regular authentication, an App allows authentication through a LDAP directory. Read the dedicated documentation for more information. Thus, there are two types of users depending on their authentication mode:
The user administration menu allows you to change the user type at any time. For instance, this allows you to migrate an existing user base to LDAP. Such changes will have the following consequences:
By default, there is only one Administrator account: admin/adminadmin!. You can define other administrators but be very careful, they will be able to do everything that can be done on iceScrum. You can remove administrator permissions from any user except yourself.
You can switch as a user temporarily in order to see what they see in iceScrum. This may come in handy for support purposes. To switch back as admin, browse the main menu and click on the corresponding button.
Batch actions are available if you click on several users in a row.